The Receptionist

International B2B campaign in comedy format for Schott

High-tech with its heart in the right place - this is how the specialty glass manufacturer SCHOTT presents itself in its new B2B campaign #glasslovers - United by a passion for glass. Centerpiece of the campaign is our humorous series "The Receptionist" with actor and comedian Michael Kessler. As a fictional employee, he provides sympathetic insights into the soul of the globally active company.

Agency
Scholz & Friends
Year
2021
Awards

Normally, there is little room for entertainment when it comes to communicating complex information in the field of special glass. With the series "The Receptionist", we are breaking completely new ground in B2B communication together with SCHOTT. Michael Kessler's phrases like "bend a phone like a cheese sandwich" get to the heart of SCHOTT's expertise in a humorous way. "Brand building in the B2B environment also works through emotion, and B2B target groups also have emotional decision-making motives. In order to leverage this potential, we rely on authenticity and humor with 'The Receptionist'. After all, it may be all about business, but at the end of the day, we are all human beings," say Christina Rettig, Head of Communications at SCHOTT, and Michael Müller, Communication Manager and Project Manager, in unison.

Innovation paired with a twinkle in the eye

The receptionist positions the SCHOTT company as an approachable global player with German roots. With a good dose of self-irony, he is the main character in the content series and represents all of the employees at SCHOTT who are truly passionate about glass as a material. Lead actor Michael Kessler adds: "SCHOTT not only has world-class glass, but also world-class humor. That's why I was immediately on fire for the project and am very excited to slip into the role of Fritz, the receptionist." The launch of the series is accompanied by an international display and moving image campaign.

The Receptionist

Internationale B2B-Kampagne im Comedy-Format für Schott

High-Tech mit dem Herz am rechten Fleck – so präsentiert sich der Spezialglashersteller SCHOTT in seiner neuen B2B-Kampagne #glasslovers – United by a passion for glass. Deren Herzstück bildet unsere humorvolle Serie „The Receptionist“ mit Schauspieler und Comedian Michael Kessler. Als fiktionaler Mitarbeiter gibt er sympathische Einblicke in die Seele des weltweit agierenden Unternehmens.

Agentur
Scholz & Friends
Jahr
2021
Awards
  • Deutscher Preis für Onlinekommunikation - Chemie & Pharma (2021)

Authentisch und humorvoll

Normalerweise bleibt nur wenig Platz für Unterhaltung, wenn es darum geht, komplexe Informationen im Bereich Spezialglas zu vermitteln. Mit der Serie „The Receptionist“ beschreiten wir gemeinsam mit SCHOTT daher völlig neue Wege in der B2B-Kommunikation. Michael Kesslers Formulierungen wie „bend a phone like a Käsebrot” bringen das Know-how von SCHOTT auf humoristische Weise auf den Punkt. „Auch im B2B-Umfeld funktioniert Markenaufbau über Emotion, und auch B2B-Zielgruppen haben emotionale Entscheidungsmotive. Um dieses Potenzial zu heben, setzen wir mit ‚The Receptionist‘ auf Authentizität und Humor. Denn es geht zwar ums Business, aber im Endeffekt sind wir alle Menschen“, sagen Christina Rettig, Head of Communications bei SCHOTT und Michael Müller, Communication Manager und Projektleiter unisono.

Innovation gepaart mit einem Augenzwinkern

Der Rezeptionist positioniert das Unternehmen SCHOTT als nahbaren Global Player mit deutschen Wurzeln. Mit einer guten Portion Selbstironie steht er als Hauptfigur der Content-Serie stellvertretend für alle Mitarbeitenden bei SCHOTT, die wirklich für den Werkstoff Glas brennen. Hauptdarsteller Michael Kessler ergänzt: „SCHOTT hat nicht nur Weltklasse-Glas, sondern auch Weltklasse-Humor. Deshalb war ich sofort Feuer und Flamme für das Projekt und freue mich sehr, in die Rolle des Rezeptionisten Fritz zu schlüpfen.“ Begleitet wird der Launch der Serie von einer internationalen Display- und Bewegtbild-Kampagne.